RSS

Software and Portraits

22 Feb

Well, I am still battling with software, this time being Photoshop CS5 and Photoshop Elements 8.  I think it is just a question, for now, of learning as I go along and by my mistakes, of which there have been many.  One success I have had, however, is the application of a copyright notice on most of my photographs.  Not that I think that they are necessarily a major target for photo thieves, but I have been told that it is a good habit to get into from the start.  Took me ages to work out how to do it, and in the end I used Elements to create the image, and CS5 to apply it.  There must be an easier way!

So having managed to master the application of watermarks, I then turned my attention to the portrait format for photography.  First problem, of course, is to find a model to pose for you.  Haven’t progressed to contacting any models as yet, but found a couple of willing volunteers from within the family!  So that is where I have been practising colour balance, cropping, sharpening, filters etc etc.  Not sure I have been 100% successful thus far, although I have had some nice comments from folks on my Flickr account (http://www.flickr.com/photos/chrischaplin/).

 

Nikki
Jessica
Nikki and Jessica

 

I also tried my hand at a slightly more ‘off the wall’ type of image which, I must admit, I really quite like.  Do feel free to add your comments in the usual way.

 

Giving you the eye!

So I continue on my journey.  I am rapidly coming to the conclusion that I will have to, at some time, enrol in some kind of formal photography course, but for now I am having fun.  Hope the images are worthwhile.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
